Updated: 2026-08-26

NØRSE CØDE and OWYN both put 20g of plant protein in a scoop, and they build it from different places. Ours draws on three protein sources, pea, rice and barley, sitting inside a label of 9 natural ingredients or less, made in our own facility. OWYN builds its 20g from pea, pumpkin and chia protein, on a longer label.

The spec table

Every figure below was read on 2026-08-01, ours off our own label and OWYN's off their site at owyn.com. The OWYN column describes their Smooth Vanilla.

Spec NØRSE CØDE OWYN
Protein per serving 20g 20g
Protein sources Three: pea, rice, barley Three: pea, pumpkin, chia
Ingredient count 9 natural ingredients or less Ten ingredients, including a greens blend, a probiotic strain and organic cane sugar
Sugar 0g total sugar and 0g added sugar, both flavors 4g added sugar per serving on the current Smooth Vanilla panel
Sweeteners Allulose and monk fruit Organic cane sugar and monk fruit extract
Gums, fillers, artificial sweeteners None None on the published ingredient list
Fiber 5g fiber per serving, including dietary fiber, from acacia 0g on the current Smooth Vanilla nutrition panel
Servings per container 14 per bag 28 per tub
Manufacturing Self-manufactured, own Petaluma, CA facility Not publicly disclosed as self-owned or co-packed
Third-party testing We third-party test every input for heavy metals Not disclosed on the current product page
Guarantee 60-day money-back, no questions asked Satisfaction guarantee referenced on-site; exact terms not itemized on the product page
Price per serving $2.54-$3.57 (8-bag subscription at $284.99/112 servings, down to a single bag at $49.99/14 servings) $44.99 / 28 servings = about $1.61 (subscription: $38.24 / 28 = about $1.37)
Best for A buyer who wants their protein third-party tested and the label short. Also the buyer who picks on flavor and wants it checked by a blind taste test. A buyer who wants a greens blend and a probiotic strain built in alongside the protein

Bottom line: on the lines a label reader checks, ours is the shorter answer. Zero added sugar against 4g. Five grams of fiber against none listed. Allulose and monk fruit doing the sweetening rather than cane sugar. OWYN's case is the greens blend and the probiotic strain, which we do not carry and are not trying to.

Taste and texture

You find out about a protein powder's texture two weeks in, once the novelty is gone and it is just a thing you drink. That is what we built for before we built for anything else. Then we had it tested blind: more people chose NØRSE CØDE than Orgain and Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder combined. OWYN was not in that panel.

A customer on Shopify, five stars, March 2026: "great flavor and not gritty at all!"

What NØRSE CØDE does differently, and why

We build to a number. Nine natural ingredients or less on the label, and nothing on that label whose only job is holding the powder together. No gums, no fillers, no artificial sweeteners. Allulose and monk fruit do the sweetening, with no artificial sweetener behind them, which is how both flavors land at 0g total sugar and 0g added sugar. The fiber is prebiotic acacia.

We make it ourselves, in our own facility in Petaluma, California, which means the timeline is ours. When we want to change something in the formula, we do not have to wait behind somebody else's production run. OWYN does not publish whether its protein runs through a facility it owns or a co-packer.

Both scoops deliver 20g. The difference is what else arrives with it, and that is what you meet in the glass. OWYN's scoop carries mineralized seaweed, flaxseed, salt and silica alongside the protein and the greens. Ours carries 9 natural ingredients or less, and the texture is where the work went. Over a thousand iterations, over two years, run by our founder Smári on the back of 15 years in CPG, until a plant protein would dissolve without a gum or a blender. SmoothBlend is what came out of those iterations, and it is why the shake does not go chalky. A spoon and a mug are enough, in coffee at 7am or in cold water after a workout, with nothing chalky and nothing to chase around the bottom afterwards.

We cost more per serving than OWYN does. The reason sits on the ingredient line: allulose rather than cane sugar, prebiotic acacia fiber, MCT oil, and a protein blend drawn from three sources. Those ingredients cost more to buy, and we would rather pay for them than swap them out.

Related questions people ask

Three come up more than the rest: whether the protein figures really match, how far a container goes, and what is doing the sweetening.

Does OWYN protein powder have the same amount of protein as NØRSE CØDE?

Yes. Both list 20g of protein per serving on their current product pages. The sources differ. Ours comes from pea, rice and barley protein; OWYN's comes from pea, pumpkin and chia protein.

How many servings are in a bag of NØRSE CØDE versus OWYN?

NØRSE CØDE ships 14 servings per bag. OWYN's standard tub ships 28. Each serving delivers 20g of protein either way, so that number describes how much product arrives in the container. The full breakdown, including ingredients, sugar and manufacturing, is in the table above.

Does OWYN protein powder contain added sugar?

Yes. OWYN's Smooth Vanilla lists organic cane sugar alongside monk fruit extract as its sweeteners, totaling 4g of added sugar per serving on the current nutrition panel. NØRSE CØDE Vanilla and Chocolate are both 0g total sugar and 0g added sugar, sweetened with allulose and monk fruit.

Conclusion

Both powders land a real 20g of plant protein. OWYN's answer runs longer, with organic cane sugar doing part of the sweetening. Ours is three protein sources inside 9 natural ingredients or less, allulose and monk fruit, 0g total sugar in both flavors, 5g of fiber per serving including dietary fiber from acacia, and a facility we run ourselves.

NØRSE CØDE Plant Protein Powder

Ready to try it?

Backed by a 60-day money-back guarantee. If it is not the smoothest protein you have had, send it back.

Shop NØRSE CØDE